Final footbal scores and rejection letters

January 4, 2010 at 10:03am (Samhain) ()

Although this should be a no brainer, I’m not sure which I regret more: a loss by my favorite football team or a rejection letter. Yes, this seems silly, even immature, since a rejection letter effects my life far more than my favorite team losing, but I have come to expect the rejections, not the losses. When I send off fifteen queries, I usually recieve six form letters, two real letters, one I wish I could help you but don’t give up, and the rest is silence. But when I check the score of my favorite team, I am optimistic and hopefully. I lost those qualities towards my novels and getting an agent years ago. Hell, I think if I ended up with the Broadway Danny Rose of literary agents at this point, I’d be happy. Now that is lowering ones expectations.

Leave a comment